SHARE:
 News

Creating a just global community – join the debates

Share this:
Anonymous
Thursday, 28 August, 2014

What’s your question to the Elders? Join the discussion this weekend, as three Elders debate ethical leadership, equality and global citizenship with civil society in Hawaii.

How do we encourage young people to be ethical leaders? And how can they champion compassionate and responsible behaviour?

As part of the Pillars of Peace Hawaii initiative, Gro Harlem Brundtland, Hina Jilani and Desmond Tutu will be holding a discussion with young people at 9.30am HST (7.30pm GMT) on Saturday 30 August.

“We will share stories and wisdom. [We] hope we can inspire young people to work towards the kind of society that all of us dream of… caring, supportive, welcoming.” Desmond Tutu said.

The following day at 4pm HST (2am GMT), the three Elders will also take part in a live-streamed debate open to the general public: ‘A Just and Inclusive Global Community’. The event, moderated by PBS Hawaii CEO and President Leslie Wilcox, will explore how equality and global citizenship can be used to empower youth and civil society groups to create a better future for all.

Submit your questions to the Elders on Twitter using #PeaceHI and return to this page to watch both events live.

Discussion with students – "Leaders make the future: the wisdom of Elders and Youngers"

Public debate – "A just and inclusive global community"

I would like to find:

Search
Close
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
 

Keep up to date with The Elders latest News and Insight:

Sign up to receive monthly newsletters from The Elders. We will occasionally send you other special updates and news, but we'll never share your email address with third parties.
Close